Reading Confessions

I read this on The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise & I knew I had to fill it out myself!

1. Have you ever damaged a book?

Never on purpose, but some of my older Garfield books (don’t judge me) have torn pages that I later fixed with clear packing tape.  & I’ve had some of my bright red nail polish rub off on some pages before; so, no, never on purpose, but, yes, on accident.

2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

NEVER!  That’s just rude on so many levels.  It irks me when I borrow a book from the library & someone has written, highlighted, or otherwise damaged the interior.

3. How long does it take you to read a book?

That’s a tough question to answer, because there are just so many factors.  I usually only read before I go to bed for about an hour, so it depends on how tired I am.  I also don’t always like the book in the beginning (or middle, or end), so I might be less inclined to read it & more inclined to just go to bed.  Then there’s the length – longer books, obviously, take longer to read.

Going by my Goodreads.com reviews, which track when I listed a book as “started” & “finished,” I would say it could take anywhere from 2 weeks to a month.  But, if I were to read more & watch TV less, I would definitely be done faster.  (That was a “duh” statement, I know.)

4. Books that you haven’t finished?

There are a few, certainly, but I try to plod on & finish every book I start.  True Survival Stories by Anthony Masters might be one of the last books I didn’t actually finish, but that was about 500 books ago.  Yes, I keep a list of books I’ve read & what I thought of them (in short-hand)… don’t judge!

5. Hyped/Popular books that you don’t like?

I thought that 50 Shades of Grey was horrific.  I read about 1/3 of a page before I put it in a pile to be donated.  I thought it was terribly written, grammatically flawed, & showed BDSM/D/s in such a flawed, incorrect, & defamatory light that it makes its participants unsure of how to tell a consentual lifestyle from an abusive relationship.  I think our society is worse off for those books having been written.

6. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

Absolutely not.  In fact, I show everyone on FB what I’m reading through my Goodreads account.

7. How many books do you own?

I don’t think I can even count that high.  I have at least 100+ books that I haven’t read yet, separated into different categories (i.e. fiction, historical/psychological, religious, The Western Canon) on a shelf, then another 50+ in the basement that I’ve already read, & several thousand in Kindle version to be read.  However, I think I’ll always prefer actual books to Kindle/e-reader books; I love to see the progress I’ve made, feel the book in my hands, &, yes, the smell of books.

8. Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I would say that I’m a pretty slow reader.  I have ADHD, which means I get easily distracted while I’m reading.  I’ll get through an entire paragraph only to realize that I didn’t comprehend any of it because my mind was wandering.  Also, since I only read for about an hour before bed, it does take me a while to read an entire book.  I really should dedicate more time to reading versus TV.

9. Do you like to buddy read?

I’m not sure what this means, so I’m going to make some assumptions.  I used to like reading books out loud with an ex of mine, so if that’s what “buddy read” means, then, yes, but it has to be with a special person.  That’s something I feel is almost intimate.  If it means when you & a buddy read the same book, then discuss it… it could be a good thing; but that sounds more like “book club” than “buddy read.”

10. Do you read better in your head or out loud?

I read better out loud, only because it forces me to really concentrate on what I’m reading.  However, I very rarely do this because… well… it seems weird to do when I’m alone!

11. If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

I couldn’t possibly answer this…I have far too many books that I either rate as “really like” or “loved.”  It’s an awful future to even imagine in my world!! *curls up in a sad lil ball*

I tag:

No one, since this is my first post & I have no followers.  This is a complete & utter act of blatant navel-gazing.

12 thoughts on “Reading Confessions

    1. Always a pleasure to meet a fellow reader. I find there are so few of us nowadays… unless you count Kindle. What are your thoughts on Kindle vs. paper books?

      Like

      1. I’ve always loved paper books. I’ve used my iPad for my textbooks, but I don’t think I will ever use a mobile device for pleasure books. I love the paper ones too much!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m with you on that one. I have thousands of Kindle books saved on my external hard-drive, but I just can’t give up “the real thing.”

        I love the feel of a book in my hands, I love seeing my progress as I read more & more, &, yes, I love the smell of books. Old books, new books… I just love the smell.

        I do feel a little bit bad about the environmental impact, though.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. How cool. Unfortunately, I have damaged a borrowed book. I was mortified and couldn’t give it back. So I had to buy a new one. 😦

    Anyway I just read your lovely post on the Melodramatic Confessions. I look forward to more of your posts. Following you now 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think we’ve all damaged a book at one point or another. I used to wear bright red nail polish & it would end up rubbing off on the pages, which irks me every time I see it. But, of course, that’s on my own books. I can only imagine how I would feel if I damaged a borrowed book; I completely empathize with you. I think you did what I would do in that situation & replaced what you damaged… but not without feeling awful.

      Oh wow!! I didn’t expect such a response so quickly!! I really do need to reblog that post to my own page, & I guess I have to get to work on writing something worth reading. 😉

      I’m very new to WordPress, so forgive me any future muck-ups! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I have no idea how I missed your comment. I blame being new to WordPress. Although, I’m coming up on my 1 year anniversary in a couple of months, so I should probably drop that one. XD

        Regardless, I wanted to say you’re most welcome. & you rock. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

