As always, many repeated thanks to Getting Through Anxiety & The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise for creating this fantastic monthly challenge!
alphmusc
August 8th is a “Band/Singer that starts with the letter ‘H.'”  I’m bucking the trend today (I’m surprised it took me this long) & I’m picking “Hamilton: The Musical.”

Short backstory: My family loved musical theater growing up.  I did a few musicals in various schools.  My friends love it when I do musical stuff at karaoke & they go so far as to give me puppy-dog-eyes if I don’t wanna sing it (OK, that was a shameless plug… I love it when they do this!)

This musical has been the “big deal” around the New York area for quite a while & it took me way too long to listen to the soundtrack.  TBH, I haven’t finished the whole 2 discs yet, but I heard enough to know I love it.  It’s modern, lively, & lyrical genius.

That said… I just finished a biography of Thomas Jefferson & it sounds like Alexander Hamilton was a bit of a Federalist – people who wanted to create a monarchy or similarly hereditary passage of ruling power in the United States – soooo… not the greatest person in my mind.  But, this musical makes him far more human than did Jefferson’s speculation on Hamilton’s character (heard 3rd or even 4th hand through Jon Meacham’s writing).

My favorite song – “My Shot”

I am not throwing away my shot!
I am not throwing away my shot!
Hey yo, I’m just like my country
I’m young, scrappy and hungry
And I’m not throwing away my shot!
I’m ‘a get a scholarship to King’s College
I prob’ly shouldn’t brag, but dag, I amaze and astonish
The problem is I got a lot of brains but no polish
I gotta holler just to be heard
With every word, I drop knowledge!
I’m a diamond in the rough, a shiny piece of coal
Tryin’ to reach my goal. My power of speech: unimpeachable
Only nineteen but my mind is older
These New York City streets get colder, I shoulder
Ev’ry burden, ev’ry disadvantage
I have learned to manage, I don’t have a gun to brandish
I walk these streets famished
The plan is to fan this spark into a flame
But damn, it’s getting dark, so let me spell out the name

2 thoughts on “August A-Z Music Challenge – Day 8 “H”

    1. Oh, I know what you mean. There’s no seeing this show for at least a few years. It’s the “hot new show.” The cost will drop eventually.

      I heard, at one point, the prices were up to $700. Then, there’s the wait times. At one point, “The Book Of Mormon” was sold out for 2 years – meaning, you’d go online to look for tickets & the only available date was 2 years from the current date.

      Like

Leave a Reply

