As always, many repeated thanks to Getting Through Anxiety & The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise for creating this fantastic monthly challenge!
alphmusc
August 9th is a “Band/Singer that starts with the letter ‘I.'”  This one would have to go to Idina Menzel – only because Irving Berlin was primarily a composer, not a singer.

However, the composer of “White Christmas” (one of the most popular Christmas songs to this day, despite the fact that Irving Berlin was a devout Jew), “Happy Holiday,” “G-d Bless America,” “Puttin’ on the Ritz,” “There’s No Business Like Show Business,” “Cheek to Cheek,” “Let’s Face the Music and Dance,” “Steppin’ Out With My Baby,” & “Alexander’s Ragtime Band” (which takes some of the credit for the “ragtime” craze in both Berlin’s adopted home country of the U.S.A. & his mother country of Russia), deserves an honorary mention.

Idina Menzel’s “break-out role” was on Broadway as Maureen in Rent, a role she played again in the movie.  However, her most popular – and amazing – roles had to be her Tony Award-winning originating role of Elphaba in Wicked & her role as Queen Elsa in Disney’s Frozen.

Her power-ballad vocal styling is awe-inspiring.  It gives me goosebumps every time I hear her sing.

(BTW, I’m having a really bad “typo” day today.  Please feel free to point out any spelling/grammar mistakes I’ve made here – or anywhere, really!)

4 thoughts on “August A-Z Music Challenge – Day 9 “I”

    1. Thanks so much for giving my post a look for typos! I made such a huge one on a FB page I help admin & all my friends made fun of me b/c I usually correct their typos. LOL

      It really is a one of a kind voice! I tried to do some of her songs w/my singing teacher – way back when – & he told me NOT to sing like her, simply b/c she has skills that aren’t standard. He thought I’d bust a vocal chord. LOL

      Like

      1. Haha! I’m a total grammar Nazi. I’m the resident proofreader in my office!

        Nice! I’ve thought about taking vocal / voice lessons. I’ve been told that I have a nice, pretty voice, but I’d like to have some formal training at some point.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m usually the proofreader … well… EVERYWHERE. LOL

        My friends on the FB page I help admin, who are also admins, ribbed me mercilessly because they’ve NEVER seen me make typos & they’re so used to me correcting their posts. But, hey… I can take it. It was hilarious, in fact. I was helping one of them keep track of my typos for the day for future poking fun at me. LOL

        Even though I embody what people would call a “Grammar Nazi,” I dislike the term. But, that’s a personal call. Other people are welcome to call themselves whatever they choose!

        You should! There’s nothing wrong with seeing what it’s all about. I’d recommend finding a Groupon or other low cost option, however, if you’re only doing it for fun. My last singing teacher was so used to teaching people who were doing auditions or something similar that he didn’t know how to teach a “for fun” student. Or, you can always fib & tell them it’s for an audition. LOL

        Like

Leave a Reply

