Always & forever, many repeated thanks to Getting Through Anxiety & The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise for creating this fantastic monthly challenge!
alphmusc
August 12th is a “Band/Singer that starts with the letter ‘L.'”  I’d like to say that this one took some time & careful consideration, but I’m a terrible liar.  I knew at the beginning of the month that August 12th would be “Lady Gaga.”

OK, granted, she’s a bit of an odd duck, but, c’mon!  What performer/famous person isn’t at least a little weird!  I also have a theory (which is probably 100% wrong, but what the heck) that she might have wanted to avoid being a stereotypically attractive pop singer, so she does some weird stuff to detract from her looks.

All that postulating, hemming & hawing, & theorizing aside, I got to see Lady Gaga in concert.  Not only did I get to see the Lady who calls for self-love worldwide herself, but I got to see her perform with the legendary Tony Bennett!!  She had a bit of a sore throat (we could tell), but she was still on point the whole time.

There were literal chills throughout the performance.  I then spent over $100 on souvenirs I could buy online for 1/3 the price, but I had to commemorate the experience (& bring a DVD back home for Dad).

So, who did I miss by picking Lady Gaga without considering anyone else?  Do you have any thoughts on her antics?

7 thoughts on “August A-Z Music Challenge – Day 12 “L”

    1. I know!! I love that about her. Plus, after hearing her in person, she’s quite a good singer too. There’s too much auto-tuning in the world today, but she has a natural voice that – even when sick – stands out.

      I know I’ve heard some Lady Antebellum, but I’m not familiar enough with them to say whether or not I like them. I know, like, one song from a lot of different modern country singers, but beyond that I don’t “know know” them…. y’know? LOL

      My vague country knowledge stems from my days as a country line-dancing addict. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hmmm … L was a hard one for me (although, I’m terrible at these things, I never keep up. Although I did find a book tag that you will LOVE and I actually like so I’m actually going to do it for once!) but I would’ve gone Linkin Park, I think. But that was more so because I had a lot of their music more than anything.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ooo… I do so love books. I saw one tag that was to compare books to a particular song & I thought it looked really neat, but also REALLY hard!

      Hmm… they’re OK. I like some of their stuff (“Bleed It Out” was my JAM way back when saying “jam” was cool). Still, I feel like I keep hearing the same couple of songs of theirs on Pandora & I’ve gotten sick of ’em. The songs, I mean, not Linkin Park. I still like them. I just like Lady Gaga more. I’m a total “lil monster!” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know exactly what you mean about Linkin Park! They were awesome for a little while, then they went crap, and then they had a few good songs, and now they’re kind of pop-like!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

