August A-Z Music Challenge – Day 13 “M”

Always & forever, many repeated thanks to Getting Through Anxiety & The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise for creating this fantastic monthly challenge!
alphmusc
August 13th is a “Band/Singer that starts with the letter ‘M.'”  I’ve got to give it to Mariah Carey.  Not only does she have a voice that spans several octaves (including into a range I can sing, which few artists do), but she has a career that has spanned several decades.

I also really like Miranda Lambert for her spit-fire country lyrics & driving beats.  My favorite songs of hers are “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend” & “Gunpowder & Lead.”

Some lyrics from the latter:

County road 233, under my feet
Nothin’ on this white rock but little ole me
I got two miles ’til, he makes bail
And if I’m right we’re headed straight for hell

I’m goin’ home, gonna load my shotgun
Wait by the door and light a cigarette
He wants a fight well now he’s got one
And he ain’t seen me crazy yet
Slapped my face and he shook me like a rag doll
Don’t that sound like a real man?
I’m gonna show him what little girls are made of
Gunpowder and lead

4 thoughts on “August A-Z Music Challenge – Day 13 “M”

  1. Mariah’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You” never fails to get me in the Christmas spirit!

    Miranda is kick-ass awesome! She’s one of the few country artists that I have not yet seen in concert. I love both songs you picked. My husband’s cousin auditioned for “The X Factor” with “Gunpowder & Lead” a few years ago, and made it a few rounds through the competition. We were so proud of her!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not a Christmas song fan, but I’m so glad that it gets you in the spirit! I think it’s a great rendition, either way.

      WOW! Your husband’s cousin must be really, really good! Can’t you get her to go with you to karaoke?? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Is that such a bad thing?? I mean, karaoke is all for fun! It doesn’t really matter if someone is better than you as long as you’re having a good time!

        It sounds terribly immodest, but I’ve had people tell me before that they don’t wanna sing after I sing at karaoke. That actually makes me pretty sad because I don’t want to make people feel badly about their singing skills & I wouldn’t want to be “the reason” they didn’t have as much fun at a karaoke bar.

        Like

Leave a Reply

