The traditional rules for accepting this nomination are:

  1. Thank the one who nominated you and embed a link to their blog.
  2. Share how you started your blog.
  3. Give a little bit of advice that new bloggers can take away.
  4. Select fifteen other blogs who you think really deserve the award.
  5. Visit the blogs you nominated and let them know

Thank the one who nominated you and embed a link to their blog

Thank you, Laura  (of Hot Shot Headlines fame!) for nominating me!!  I’m sorry that it took me so long to get around to filling out & posting this, but I was committed to do it even if it killed me.  It didn’t, obviously.  Or am I posting from beyond the graaaaveeee? 😉

Share how you started your blog

Gosh… OK, so, I actually made this blog twice & I’ll explain how & why for both.

Once upon a time (seriously though, I can’t remember when it was), I was submitting my poetry to several reviews online.  I had a binder full of short story, poems, & “other” ideas.  I thought that creating a blog would give me space for both my own writing.

I was also trying to find work, wherever I could, as an online content writer.  Part of me thought that making a WordPress account might also impress potential employers.  It was close enough to a being website without the high cost (anything about $0.00 was, & still is, out of my price range).

Unfortunately, I didn’t use it.  Not once.

Then, about 5-6 months ago (again, I’m terrible at remembering dates & times; I could be off by as much as a year), I was reading some comments on a feminist Facebook page I like & I saw a link to a post.  That’s how I found The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise  & its brilliant author, whom I still maintain is one of the sweetest people online.

However, for some reason I don’t understand myself, so I can’t explain it to you, I didn’t want to use my existing, blank, WordPress account.  So, I made a brand new one instead.  & I used the same exact name.  If anyone reading knows what the heck I was thinking, please let me know!

Since I first posted, back in June (I only know because of WordPress’s stats showing my 1st post ever), I’ve mostly:

  • Filled out tags
  • Done challenges
  • Reposted some book reviews from my Goodreads’s account
  • Reblogged some amazing posts that shared my feelings regarding feminism/politics/mental & physical health issues
  • Shared the guest post I wrote for Carla’s page

However, I still haven’t really started sharing my own writing – remember, the binder of ideas from earlier.  To be honest, most of them are G-d-awful, but there are one or two workable ones.  The good ones were the driving force behind creating this blog, both times.  My procrastination knows no bounds!

Give a little bit of advice that new bloggers can take away

Oh dear.  I still consider myself a new blogger, so I’m still searching for advice.

Then again, there are a few things I’ve learned thus far that might help those just starting/thinking about starting their own blog:

  • Tell your story.  I think showing readers your humanity, & what you’ve learned in your life, is important.  I know that helps me connect to other people’s writings.
  • Don’t ignore comments.  Comments I leave on other people’s blogs let me connect to writers I admire, share common interests, discuss similar & dissenting points-of-view, & give feedback.  Comments I get on my blog show that people are reading my posts, in addition to everything I already mentioned.
  • Tags, awards, & challenges are fun.  However, if they start to feel like a chore, distraction, or just plain boring, you don’t have to do them.  You’re allowed to stop a month-long challenge on the 3rd or the 29th day.  You’re allowed to say to someone, “Thanks, but I don’t think I’ll be doing this tag.”  People – myself included – have added pages saying they’re not doing awards/nominations/tag.  You don’t have to give a reason (you also don’t have to be a jerk, so stay polite).
  • No matter what, there’s probably a blog for what you’re interested in.  I’m pretty sure you can find bloggers writing about whatever topic tickles your fancy.  Go look for them!
  • Don’t be ashamed to use whatever morsel of inspiration you need.  If you’re feeling “stuck,” WordPress has really neat prompts for writing, drawing, & taking pictures.  Or, if you prefer working offline before posting, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, & other booksellers have tons of prompt books/journals/diaries for your inspiration.

Select fifteen other blogs who you think really deserve the award

I award everyone.  Yeah, I know it’s a total copout, but I don’t think I have 15 followers (especially not when you discount those who’ve already done this & those who don’t do awards).  I’d like to hear everyone’s thoughts because, regardless of how many people read this, you’re all worthy of recognition.

Leave a Reply

