No one actually tagged me for this one, but I saw it on B‘s page & I had to do it.  Seriously – it was an unstoppable phenomenon!


inside-out-book-tag

I: Inside Flap / Back of Book Summaries. Too much info? Or not enough? Discuss!

It really depends on the book!  Some books only have reviews on their back cover, which doesn’t interest me at all.  I think the back covers that aren’t covered in glowing commentary usually don’t have enough information.  Sometimes the inside flaps give me enough info.  Sometimes, it’s the author’s bio.

But, because I get most of my books from Amazon lately, I find that the blurb right underneath the formats/prices is the right amount of detail.

N: New Book. Be Honest: Which format do you want it in? Audio, hardcover, paperback, or ebook?

Paperback.  Hardcover is a really close second.  I like that hardcovers are easier to hold when I’m lying down (they don’t flop around like paperbacks), I like that they remind me of the “olden days” when they were the only format… only I don’t have the room to store them.  So, paperbacks win.  By a centimeter.

S: Scribble While You Read? Do you write in your books, or keep them clean? Tell us why.

“The only writing that should be in a book is the author’s!”  I couldn’t put it better than B did right there!  I don’t write in, highlight, or take notes in my books.  I would only do it when I was in college if the professor told us we had to, & he/she was looking.  Still, I would cringe on the inside.  It’s kinda hard to talk about, even now.

I: In Your Best Written Voice Read Us Your Favorite First Sentence From a Book.

I can’t recall my favorite 1st sentence from a book.  I can’t recall the 1st sentence from a book, period.  Besides, my favorite would probably change tomorrow anyway!

D: Does It Matter to You Whether the Author is Male or Female when Deciding to Read a Book? What if you’re unsure of author’s gender?

It doesn’t really matter to me what the author’s gender is.  What matters to me is the writing.  I’m more concerned with what’s inside a book than with what’s inside the author’s pants.

E: Ever Read Ahead? Or have you read the last page before you got there?

Not really.  I might have done it when I was younger – especially with those “Choose Your Own Adventure” books.  As an adult, I don’t think I have.

O: Organized Bookshelves or Outrageous Bookshelves?

My bookshelf is both!  The one bookshelf I’m using holds all the books I haven’t read yet, & it’s overflowing!  Books are stacked instead of how normal people put books on a shelf – with spines facing out.  But, I have them separated into genres (with some overlap & the categories poorly defined – I know, I defined them after all):

  • Fiction
  • Historical/psychological/sociological
  • Religion
  • Drama/poetry
  • The Western Canon

U: Under Oath: Have You Ever Bought a Book Based On the Cover? … The Cover Alone?

I don’t think so.  I’ve bought a lot of books in my lifetime, so I can’t be positive.  I’m still pretty sure I’ve only bought books based on the description or a recommendation.

T: Take it Outside or Stay In?

Absolutely stay in.  Preferably with a cute, sleepy kitty, a cozy blanket, & a mug of tea…  Maybe some cookies too.  I think reading outside is nice, of course, but there are too many distractions (like bugs, shifting sunlight making it harder to read, & sudden weather changes).

Leave a Reply

