Which Do You Prefer? Tag

which-do-you-prefer

B created this book tag & I was super excited to participate.  To use her words, “without further ado…”

1) Writing or reading books?

I’ve never written a book.  I tried, a few times, with one story before I realized it was a crappy premise.  So, I have to go with reading books.  It’s one of my favorite past-times & I try to remember as much as I can about the books I’ve read.

2) Reading hardbacks or paperbacks?

I love books, regardless of their format.  If I had to choose, I would say paperbacks.  But that’s only because I don’t have the room for more hardcovers.  I feel like hardcovers are closer to the original format in which books were created.  Plus, their spines don’t crease & their covers don’t get curled edges.  It’s a very close call, in other words.

3) Reading E-books or books you can actually hold?

Books you can actually hold, AKA real books.  I think that eBooks are encouraging more people to read as we move into the digital age, but using electronics before bed (AKA Ariel’s prime reading time) isn’t conducive to falling asleep.  Also, I can’t take notes or see my progress as easily.

4) Reading books with the protagonist of a woman or man?

I don’t have a preference, really.  What matters to me is the story’s quality & the realism of the protagonists’ actions/feelings.

5) Reading books written by men or women?

I like books/authors based on the quality of the writing, the subject matter, & the plot – not what’s in the author’s darned pants.

6) Reading books or listening?

Definitely reading books!!  I get the appeal of audio books, but I’ve never used them.

7) Reading out loud or in your head?

That depends – If I’m trying to edit something I’m writing or concentrate on something I’m reading online, I’ll read out loud.  But, if I’m reading a book, I read in my head.

I had a boyfriend once with whom I would take turns reading aloud, though.  It was nice because we both wanted to read the same book at the time & it was a bonding experience.

8) Getting books from the library/borrowing them or buying them?

Ooo.  Toughie.  I wish I could say “library,” because it’s less wasteful, more community-inclined, & it gives me the opportunity to read a book before I commit to spending money.  I have a great library system in my community.  Truth is, I haven’t taken advantage of it.  So, buying it is.

9) Reading thrillers or romance?

I don’t really care for either.  If I had to choose, it would be “thrillers.”

10) Writing in books or not?

Never!  That’s like blasphemy.

11) Reading long books or short?

Is “yes” an acceptable answer?  I don’t really think about book length when I’m picking something to read.  If an author can pull off a good story in a short book, that’s great.  If an author needs more pages, that’s also great.  Boring books are boring, regardless of whether they’re 10 pages or 1000 pages.

I nominate everyone!!

5 thoughts on “Which Do You Prefer? Tag

      1. Ooo. I hadn’t thought of that! Maybe, even while I’m not accepting nominations/tags, I could still fill out some if I see a particularly good one (like the “Which Do You Prefer” tag). Thank you for giving me that idea!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

