Alcohol and men’s mental health

Drinking & men’s mental health issues might go hand in hand… what do you think?

In Silence We Suffer

This post follows on from the sentiments expressed in my writings from last week. (Please click here for a link to that blog post concerning mental health in men.) In this post, for those of you that have not read it, I highlighted recent statistics…

  • Only 36% of referrals to psychological therapies are for men.
  • Suicide is the biggest cause of death for men under the age of 45.
  • Of all the suicides recorded in the UK in 2014, 76% were male. This can also be found through-out the last three decades.

I cited the stigma associated with mental illness as part of the explanation as to why this was the case. Today I’d like to share with you another statistic that I have since come across.

  • Men are 3 times more likely than women to become alcohol dependent.

There’s no skirting round the issue that very few men speak…

View original post 148 more words

6 thoughts on “Alcohol and men’s mental health

    1. Thank you! I thought it was a wonderful post too.

      I did change my background. October is “Breast Cancer Awareness Month,” so I changed my background color. Do you think it’s too much? I don’t wanna hurt your eyes & I could lighten it or see if I can create text boxes of white around my posts.

      I’d love your input!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m all for supporting Breast Cancer Awareness! That was my initial thought.

        However, it’s a bit much for my eyes. I would recommend lightening it. I like the tribute, though. One of my former teachers is fighting the good fight right now, along with two sorority sisters.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your feedback. Thank you for letting me know it was bothering your eyes. (I’m a bit worried now about all the other readers who might not have said anything!!)

        If it’s not too much trouble, could you see if this background color is better? If not, I’ll definitely have another go at fixing it!

        I’m so very sorry about your former teachers & your sorority sisters. I’m sending lots of positive energy their way.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for letting me know that it was problematic!! I agree, this color looks much better. I will go back to white (or another color) at the start of November. But, this was super important for me.

      My Mom died from breast cancer. We make financial donations, my cousin has done walks in my Mom’s name, & I’ve done some other stuff for cancer patients that I plan to talk about in future posts. It’s a huge deal – so many, many lives are touched by this awful disease. My cousin had to have a double-mastectomy & hysterectomy after being diagnosed with breast cancer & the “breast cancer gene.” 😥

      I feel you. If you ever need to talk, let me know. Getting support while giving support to those fighting cancer is so important.

      Like

Leave a Reply

