Intersex Awareness Day

I’m a day behind. Happy belated Intersex Awareness Day! It’s time to learn about the “I” in LGBTQIA+. Rae wrote a brilliant post with some great links in it. Take a moment to familiarize yourself with Intersex issues, & share your stories if you have any.

bookmarkchronicles

Today is Intersex Awareness Day, so let’s talk about the “I” in LGBTQIAP+!

I don’t actually know anyone that identifies as intersex so if you do or know someone that does, please link some resources in the comments below. I found two articles from Everyday Feminism that might also be helpful to anyone who wants to learn more.


If you were to Google “intersex” right now, this is what would come up:

“A general term used for a variety of conditions in which a person is born with a reproductive or sexual anatomy that doesn’t seem to fit the typical definition so female or male”

I don’t really like this definition to be honest (although it really isn’t my place to judge). I don’t like the term “doesn’t seem to fit the typical” I don’t like when members of this community are referred to as if they are not normal…

View original post 245 more words

Leave a Reply

