My Chronic Illness is Worse Than Yours

We don’t need to compete with one another for “who has the worst chronic illness.” We should be lifting one another up, not shooting one another down. 😦

bookmarkchronicles

A lot of my family members still don’t know that I have Hashimoto’s disease. It’s never really come up and I don’t know how to bring it up spontaneously. Instead, I just don’t talk about it.

One of my cousins also has a chronic illness – fibromyalgia. While our diseases are different, I figured that she would understand what it’s like to not always be in control of what happens to your body. For that reason, I thought that opening up to her would easy. I was hoping that after I came clean, we could build a support system for each other.

I was wrong.

I actually wish that I hadn’t told her at all and now I will be sure to never talk about it around her again.

The first time I mentioned it, was because the endocrinologist’s office is near her house and stopped by on my way there. It was…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

